✈️ Southwest cheat sheet to save you money

+ Alaska packing list, it's complicated!

Good morning ☀️ from Booked It On Points: Friday Edition where I give an actionable tip to make your travel dreams a reality.

Here’s what’s we have today—

✈️Tip: 6 tips unique to SW that you need to know to save money
🧠 Intelligence: Alaska packing list, how’d I do?

✈︎ First Class Travel Tip:

Pro Travel Tip: Southwest tips to save you the $$

Southwest is often our go-to domestic airline because I love the ease of booking (best mobile app ever) and the flexibility to change.

Here are 4 not-so-known tips to save you the money

1) You can cancel your flight up to 10 minutes before your flight and receive a full refund (in miles or flight credit!)

2) Southwest points are easy to accumulate either through their awesome credit cards or transferring from “blue bank” cards.

3) If your flight price decreases after booking, you can get the difference paid back to you.

4) Family boarding allows families with kids 6 and under to board after A group and prior to B group- although I’ve heard that they won’t turn down families with older kiddos as well

If you’ve been here for a minute, you may gather that we LOVE to adventure. Whether it be spending time on an isolated beach in Mexico, or glacier hikes here in Alaska, we’re always looking for the next adrenaline rush. One place we are always sure to get great travel inspo is the Adventure Fix newsletter. Featuring spots all over the world, it’s filled with places to add to your wanderlust list. Sign up here- Adventure Fix

✈︎ The Informed Traveler

We’re in Alaska!

Doing Alaska things- like canoeing to a glacier!

This week we embarked on an Alaskan cruise and we’ve had smooth sailing and incredible views! While I’ll share more on that in the coming weeks- I must confess, packing for this trip was incredibly stressful for me!

Because of the changing temps, chance of rain, varying activities, and fancy nights onboard- it was my biggest packing challenge yet. Here’s what I brought and my thoughts on how I did:

In general → layers are king here. We’ve had days ranging from 40s (F) and raining to 60s (F) and pure sunshine. I’ve had everything I need, minus some fancier evening footwear, but I knew that was the sacrifice when limiting to a carry-on only.

Key pieces I included: Wool long sleeve, cotton long sleeve x2, tank tops for exercise and excursions, button ups for layering x2, light sweater x1, sweat shirt x1, puffy vest, puffy coat, rain coat outer shell.

Overall, carry on was the right choice because our cabin is small for all 4 of us. I would have included an extra wool sweater but overall, I’m set on what I’ve included! We’re doing just fine here in Alaska!

Hope this list inspires and helps in your next packing challenge!

I appreciate you for being here today,

Allie