✈️ Compadre Pass

The easiest way you can earn your Southwest Companion Pass

What is happening friends!?

For the traveler in your life, nothing is more romantic on Valentine’s Day than cruising at 40,000ft above sea level. It just so happens, I am the traveler in this scenario and lucky me, I will be cruising at 40,000ft! That is because our little familia has been on a trip over to Europe but more on how we travel hacked that trip next week!  😁

Update points tracker- SW points 75,000 points after applying for Southwest Rapid Rewards credit card during an elevated sign on bonus period. Minimum spend of $4,000 in 3 months.

**We are currently working on a minimum spend of 2 additional cards and will let ya know when those points come to fruition!

/

So last November I jumped on an elevated sign on bonus that Southwest was doing. I chose the Southwest Rapid Reward Plus credit card because of the low annual fee. The regular sign on bonus is 50,000 points so when I saw the offer for 75k I jumped up and down and then applied. Although we don’t have any specific trips to use these points (yet), I do think it is a good investment. (When you use big words like important investment it all sounds better) Southwest is our go-to domestic airline. I love sipping some ice water and navigating the app to find flight deals in my free time (I’m pretty fun, I know). But in all seriousness, when I see that SW is running a sale, I always search from my home airport to see if there is anywhere worthwhile to take an adventure. Most recently I was able to book flights to Jacksonville, Florida to spend a sunny warm weekend with family in an attempt to stave off this winter depression.

Me: 3:00 p.m., yeah I can get a few more things done. 

Me: 4:23 p.m., where is the sun? I think I am dying! Leave me alone. 

I booked the flights in cash because they were cheap enough for me to justify. One of the rare exceptions for me to not shell out points. 

The main reason I am choosing to invest in some Southwest mulah (points) is for the companion pass. The companion pass is having the ability to name any other human to fly free with you to any destination for an unlimited amount of flights. (Check out this article I wrote on the- Southwest Companion Pass)

Since I will never hit the required number of flights to qualify -which is 100-basically reserved for anyone traveling A LOT for business, I am opting to accumulate the required amount of points to qualify and I’ll be doing that with my next CC application (drum roll please): the Southwest Rapid Rewards Business credit card. This has an 80,000 point sign on bonus which gives me 155,000 SW points, exceeding the 135,000 point requirement by 20,000 points.

What’s my biggest weakness? I am an overachiever.  

My hopes and dreams 💭 after my plan comes to fruition is to use the points and the companion pass to fly us to Costa Rica for free! Pura Vida- ✌️ that is what they say on the beautiful beaches of Costa Rica. 🇨🇷

If this sounds like a lot, you my friends are in luck. Southwest recently put out a Companion Pass promo- one of the easiest ways to earn this friend-flies-free pass ever! By simply singing up for one of the 3 personal credit cards, you will earn yourself a Companion Pass through 2/2025! That’s right, the sign on bonus is 30,000 points AND a Companion Pass! Hurry, this ends on 3/11.

But a business card?!

I don’t have a business Alison! So thanks for nothing! 🤦

It may be what you’re thinking, but trust me when I say you too can name yourself an entrepreneur and open a door to all the points and miles you could ever hope and dream of!

HOW YOU ASK!?

Make yourself a business owner!
Have you ever sold something on FB marketplace, craigslist? If Janet asks me to lower the price one more time I swear! 😂 

Well if you have dealt with Janet before then you have a Business! Have you ever thought you might like to sell anything on those platforms? Business! Maybe you’re more into sharing your life on social media, my goodness, it’s a business! Get my gist here? Whatever you can imagine, it can be. It doesn’t have to be a steady, multi million dollar cash cow with employees and 401ks. 

There a few other things that involve the IRS, EIN’s, accountants and paperwork, but it is honestly not that complex. Fear of the unknown is what holds people back. Trust me when I say that starting a business was not in my comfort zone! 🚧 
But, my passion for travel pushed me through and now I have an EIN. Which stands for employer identification number. It’s business stuff- you will get it soon. 👀 EIN feel like too much commitment? I kid you not when I say you can apply as a sole proprietor using just a social security number. No strings attached!

So go out there my friends and find a hobby and make it a business!  If you want more info on this check out this article we wrote- APPLYING FOR A BUSINESS CREDIT CARD.

If you found value or have a travel friend it would be awesome if you shared the news letter with them! USE THIS LINK - - → TRAVEL POINTS LIFE NEWSLETTER.

If you made it this far in the email you have officially landed.  Welcome to Gate A1. Thank you so much for traveling with us today! 🤟