✈️ Don't Forget This To Be Summer Travel Ready!

Global Entry updates and a guide on my favorite reward search engine

Hello Hello and happy springtime! I for one am thrilled to be moving past winter! It’s time to shed the extra layer and come out of hibernation, my friend! 

Today I bring you-

  • Paris itinerary with kids

  • Global Entry’s latest news

  • Summer travel- passport applications/renewal info

  • Why I’m passing on the SW Companion Pass- this time

So let’s begin with a little travel inspiration to warm up:

3 days in Paris Itinerary

Une baguette, pas trop cuite, s'il vous plaît

We traveled to Paris in winter so it was a bit chilly. There wasn’t much vitamin D…buuuuuut a definite 2 thumbs up from all of us on this experience!  Remember, off season travel can be immensely more enjoyable, especially in Post Covid when hot spots are more crowded than ever. Plus, you just save so much 💰.

How I booked it: I found these flights using my favorite reward flight search engine. I love it so much I even took a deeper dive here into the basics of how to use it. Using this tool saves time and energy when searching for reward flights

Rewards flights= flights booked using credit card points 

I used points from our Chase Sapphire Preferred and our Capital One Venture X credit cards because BOTH of those points transfer to Flying Blue.

Flying Blue= Loyalty program for AirFrance and KLM

I transferred these points to my AirFrance account to secure nearly free flights for the 4 of us and it was well worth it! 

You can take a looksie 👀 on why this card and this card are ranked my top 2!

*If you do happen to be so inspired to apply to any of these cards, I would greatly appreciate a heads up beforehand so I can send you a referral link! 🤟

Global Entry, you’re switching things up!

You know how when you return back to the United States after any international trip, you must pass through Immigration/Customs? Yup, that time when you’re especially:

- exhausted - AND hungry AND -have to use the bathroom 😡.

It’s every (wo)man for themselves, because once you’ve deplaned, you don’t want to dilly dally to customs. No, you must be laser focused and fast walk the corridor, elbowing everyone else out of the way to get into the queue. 

Well, applying for  Global Entry enables you to skip the dreaded line and head to the elusive “global entry only” lane. There are several travel credit cards that provide a Global Entry travel credit to help offset the cost.

Two nuggets to pass along: 🫱

First nugget → Beginning this month Global Entry has an “Enrollment on Departure” option. This option is only available at Dulles International Airport (for now) but essentially it is allows you to gain enrollment without having to schedule an interview if you:

  • Have conditional approval- granted with online application

  • Show required documents- passport, proof of physical residence

  • Have proof of same day boarding pass for an international flight (domestic flights are not eligible)

So if you happen to find yourself flying out of Dulles, this may be an option for you.

Second nugget →Beginning in October, kids get Global Entry FREE! Huge savings here and sort of what tipped us to go for Global Entry.

“That’s all good and well, Allie, but I don’t travel enough to consider Global Entry, thanks for nothing” says my loyal subscriber and friend

“I totally get that! Thanks for letting me know! Go for the Mobile Control Passport App! We’ve used it several times and it streamlines your Customs/Immigration experience. It’s FREE and all you have to do is download the App!” 

Sorry, Southwest Companion Pass, I think I’ll pass:

SW has put out 2 major offers to gain Companion Pass status in 2024 that avoid the conventional requirements. Initially, my strategy for 2024 included gaining this exclusive status by applying for this card and then the Southwest Business RR Business. I haven’t yet pulled the trigger on the business card quite yet.

While this was initially part of my 2024 strategy, I’ve since revised it because, well I am always re-evaluating most parts of my life. Most of our upcoming travel plans are international and SW airlines won’t be utilized, therefore I’ve applied to some other cards that align more with what we have coming up. Will share those deets in an upcoming letter!

Just a reminder that your travel and points/miles goals are different than Martha from next door. Always try to be crystal clear on where your travel plans might be taking you to make the best decisions for you!

LAST THING- Passports! Passports! 🛂

-Friendly PSA if you are a procrastinator type and have summer travel plans abroad! Time to submit your passport applications/renewals for this summer's trips! The current timetables are up, so don’t make this a stressful situation and just get it done!

THANK YOU FOR TRAVELING WITH US TODAY 🙌

👀 Watch: The Reluctant Traveler on Apple TV is a great watch if you are into the satire of travel. Eugene Levy visits some of the most awe inspiring destinations and puts a monotone and reluctant spin on his experience. 

📕 Read: Some of you are super duper lucky and may not be a scared/nervous flyer. That used to be me, like, bring on the turbulence, it didn’t phase me. Fast forward and, well, I hate turbulence, hate it.

Flying home from Paris last month, there was about 45 minutes of what I would consider moderate to severe turbulence (actually, Geo just said it was about 15 minutes and laughed at me when I described it has severe). But to me, turbulence is subjective and at 30,000ft over the Atlantic in the middle of the night, ALL turbulence is ALWAYS SEVERE. It’s irrational and unjustified, but it exists. If you’re a nervous flyer, there are a TON of resources. Check out this article that highlights free online modules or if you’re really in need- paid courses which include flying you on a plane as part of the course (!) Fear of flying 

So what are you thoughts? Are you already part of Global Entry? Or will you consider it in the future?

My sole goal is to help you actually travel! Book a trip then tell me all about it!

If you have a travel friend I would be forever grateful if you shared this newsletter with them! They can sign up here- BOOKED IT